Victorian Premier’s Literary Awards announced

The Victorian Premier’s Literary Awards were announced last night. Conceived by the State Government in 1985 to honour Australian writing, the awards cover seven categories with each winner receiving $25,000, and the winner of the Prize for an Unpublished Manuscript receiving $15,000.

The Victorian Prize for Literature, worth an additional $100,000, is then awarded to one of the seven category winners. This year’s prize was awarded to Manus Island detainee, Behrouz Boochani, for his book No Friend But The Mountains.

"My main aim in writing the book was for people to understand deeply how this system has tortured innocent people on Manus and Nauru in a systematic way for almost six years,’’ Boochani told The Age.

"I don't want to celebrate this achievement while I still see many innocent people suffering around me. This is why it's a paradoxical feeling. I demand freedom, give us freedom. We have committed no crime, we are only seeking asylum.”

Click on for further reading



The Victorian Prize for Literature, and the Prize for Non-Fiction
No Friend But the Mountains: Writing from Manus Prison
by Behrouz Boochani

The Prize for Fiction
The Madonna of the Mountains
by Elise Valmorbida

The Prize for Drama
The Almighty Sometimes
by Kendall Feaver

The Prize for Poetry
by Kate Lilley

The Prize for Writing for Young Adults
Catching Teller Crow
by Ambelin Kwaymullina and Ezekiel Kwaymullina

The Prize for Indigenous Writing
by Kim Scott

The Prize for an Unpublished Manuscript
by Victoria Hannan

People's Choice Award
Eggshell Skull
by Bri Lee

← Next Post Previous Post →