Countdown to Stella shortlist

Next week, on International Women’s Day on March 8, the Stella Prize judging panel will announce its shortlist for 2018 (the winning book will be announced in Sydney on April 12). During last month’s  longlist announcement, the judges said: “In a year when women’s voices are demanding to be heard, the 2018 Stella Prize longlist showcases the power and diversity of writing by women in Australia.

"The determination required to create change, and the political necessity of telling our own stories, shines through in the fiction and nonfiction of this year’s list. “
The Stella Prize is a major literary award celebrating Australian women’s writing, and an organisation that champions cultural change.

The Stella Prize is named after one of Australia’s iconic female authors, Stella Maria Sarah ‘Miles’ Franklin, and was awarded for the first time in 2013. Both nonfiction and fiction books by Australian women are eligible for entry.

The longlist is: 

  1. The Enlightenment of the Greengage Tree (Shokoofeh Azar, Wild Dingo Press)
  2. A Writing Life: Helen Garner and Her Work (Bernadette Brennan, Text)
  3. Anaesthesia: The Gift of Oblivion and the Mystery of Consciousness (Kate Cole-Adams, Text)
  4. Terra Nullius (Claire G Coleman, Hachette)
  5. The Life to Come (Michelle de Kretser, A&U)
  6. This Water: Five Tales (Beverley Farmer, Giramondo)
  7. The Green Bell: A Memoir of Love, Madness and Poetry (Paula Keogh, Affirm)
  8. An Uncertain Grace (Krissy Kneen, Text)
  9. The Choke (Sofie Laguna, A&U)
  10. Martin Sharp: His Life and Times (Joyce Morgan, A&U)
  11. The Fish Girl (Mirandi Riwoe, Seizure)
  12. Tracker (Alexis Wright, Giramondo)

← Next Post Previous Post →